OFFICE of SURFACE MINING
RECLAMATION and ENFORCEMENT

U.S. Department of the Interior

Graphic banner with ARRI logo and text: Trees for Appalachia's Future.

APPALACHIAN REGIONAL REFORESTATION INITIATIVE


__________________________
CORE AND SCIENCE TEAMS
__________________________ FOREST RECLAMATION ADVISORIES __________________________ FORESTRY RECLAMATION APPROACH __________________________
IN THE NEWS
__________________________ MINED LAND REFORESTATION CONFERENCES __________________________ PLANTING TREES ON LEGACY MINES __________________________ REFORESTATION AWARDS __________________________ REFORESTATION RESEARCH __________________________ STATE AND PRIVATE NURSERIES __________________________ STATEMENT OF MUTUAL INTENT

 

 

 

SCIENCE TEAM CONTACTS


AMERICAN BIRD CONSERVANCY - GREEN FORESTS WORK - ILLINOIS
INDIANA - KENTUCKY - MARYLAND -
OHIO - OSMRE - PENNSYLVANIA
TACF - TENNESSEE - TEXAS - US FOREST SERVICE
US GEOLOGICAL SURVEY - VIRGINIA - WEST VIRGINIA


AMERICAN BIRD CONSERVANCY

Dr. Todd Fearer, Coordinator
Appalachian Mountains Joint Venture Coordinator
c/o CMI Suite 250
Office 205
1900 Kraft Drive Blacksburg, VA 24061
Office Telephone: (540) 231-9519
Mobile: (540) 257-0598
E-mail: tfearer@abcbirds.org
Website: www.amjv.org  Link
Website: www.abcbirds.org  Link

Back to Contacts


GREEN FORESTS WORK

Michael French
Forester
6071 N. SR 9
Hope, IN 47246
Telephone:  (812) 447-3285
E-mail: michael@acf.org
Website: www.greenforestswork.org  Link

Back to Contacts


ILLINOIS

Dr. Clark Ashby
Southern Illinois University (Retired)**
907 South Briarwood Drive
Carbondale, Illinois 62901-2423
Telephone:(618) 457-4043
E-mail: washby@siu.edu

Dr. John W. Groninger
Southern Illinois University
Department of Forestry
Mail code 4411
Carbondale, IL 62901-44111
Telephone: (618) 453-7462
Fax: (618) 453-7475
E-mail: groninge@siu.edu

Back to Contacts


INDIANA

Dr. Douglass F. Jacobs
Purdue University
Hardwood Tree Improvement & Regeneration Center
Department of Forestry and Natural Resources
715 W. State Street
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2061
Telephone:(765) 494-3608
Fax: (765) 494-9461
E-mail: djacobs@purdue.edu

Mr. Ronald Rathfon
Purdue University
Department of Forestry & Natural Resources
12000 Purdue Farm Road
Dubois, IN 47527
Telephone: (812) 678-5049
E-mail: ronr@purdue.edu

INDIANA REFORESTATION RESEARCH  Link

Back to Contacts


KENTUCKY

Dr. Carmen Agouridis
University of Kentucky
Department of Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering
128 C.E. Barnhart Building
Lexington, Kentucky 40506-02766
Telephone: (859)257-3000
E-mail: carmen.agouridis@uky.edu

Dr. Christopher Barton, Co-Team Leader
University of Kentucky
Department of Forestry
106 Cooper Building
Lexington, Kentucky 40506
Telephone: (859) 257-2099
E-mail: barton@uky.edu

Seth Cude
RESPEC Consulting and Services
146 E. 3rd Street
Lexington, KY 40508
Telephone (859) 410 - 2948
E-mail: seth.cude@respec.com

Dr. Donald Graves
University of Kentucky (Retired)**
1128 Hunter Drive
Lancaster, Kentucky 40444
Telephone: (859) 548-8303
E-mail: dgraves@windstream.net

Dr. Sarah L. Hall
Berea College
Dept. of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Office: 214 Ag Bldg.
CPO 2161 Berea, KY 40404
Telephone: (859)985-3599
E-mail: Sarah_Hall@Berea.edu

Dr. Tammy Horn Potter
Kentucky Department of Agriculture
109 Corporate Drive Complex
Frankfort, KY 40601
Telephone: (502) 229-2950
E-mail:  tammy.horn@ky.gov

Dr. Richard Warner
University of Kentucky
Department of Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering
217 C.E. Barnhart Building
Lexington, Kentucky 40546-02766
Telephone: (859) 257-3000
E-mail:  richard.warner@uky.edu

KENTUCKY REFORESTATION RESEARCH Link

Back to Contacts


MARYLAND

Dr. Keith Eshleman
University of Maryland
Appalachian Laboratory
301 Braddock Road
Frostburg, Maryland 21532
Telephone:  (301) 689-7170
E-mail:  Eshleman@al.umces.edu

MARYLAND REFORESTATION RESEARCH Link

Back to Contacts


OHIO

Dr. Charles Goebel
Ohio State University
Ecosystems Management, 121A Williams Hall
1680 Madison Avenue
Wooster, Ohio 44691
Telephone: (330) 263-3789
E-mail: goebel.11@osu.edu

Dr. David Hix
Ohio State University
Ecosystems Management, 320B Kottman Hall
2021 Coffey Road
Columbus, Ohio 43210
Telephone: (614) 292-1394
E-mail: hix.6@osu.edu

Dr. Brian C. McCarthy
Ohio University
Dept. of Environmental and Plant Biology
317 Porter Hall
Athens, OH  45701-2979
Telephone: (740) 593-1615
E-mail:  mccarthy@ohio.edu

OHIO REFORESTATION RESEARCH Link

Back to Contacts


OFFICE OF SURFACE MINING RECLAMATION & ENFORCEMENT [OSMRE]
SCIENCE TEAM LIAISONS

Dr. Patrick Angel, Co-Liaison
U.S. Office of Surface Mining - Appalachian Region
State and Federal Programs Branch
421 West Highway 80
London, Kentucky 40741
Telephone:  (606) 309-4159
E-mail: pangel@osmre.gov

Chris Miller
U.S. Office of Surface Mining
Knoxville Field Office
710 Locust Street, 2nd floor
Knoxville, Tennessee 37902
Telephone: (865) 545-4103 ext.162
E-mail: crmiller@osmre.gov


Back to Contacts


PENNSYLVANIA

Dr. Michael Jacobson
Pennsylvania State University
School of Forest Resources
309 Forest Resources Building
University Park, Pennsylvania 16802-4302
Telephone: (814) 863-0401
E-mail: mgj2@psu.edu

Dr. Kenneth M. Klemow
Professor of Biology and Geo Environmental Science
Wilkes University
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18766
Telephone: (570) 408-4758
Fax: (570) 408-7862
E-mail: kenneth.klemow@wilkes.edu
Website: http://klemow.wilkes.edu  Link

Dr. Jeff Larkin
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Department of Biology
Weyandt Hall, Room 114
975 Oakland Avenue
Indiana, PA 15705-1081
Telephone: 724-357-2352
Fax: 724-357-5524
E-mail: larkin@iup.edu
Website: http://www.iup.edu/page.aspx?id=39621  Link

PENNSYLVANIA REFORESTATION RESEARCH Link

Back to Contacts


THE AMERICAN CHESTNUT FOUNDATION [TACF]

Dr. Fred Paillet
The American Chestnut Foundation®
4736 W Plymouth Rock Place
Fayetteville, AK 72704
Telephone: (479) 935-4295
E-mail: fredp@cox.net

Michael French, Forester
The American Chestnut Foundation®
6071 N. SR 9
Hope, IN 47246
E-mail: michael@acf.org
Phone: (812) 447-3285

Back to Contacts


TENNESSEE

Dr. David Buckley
University of Tennessee
Department of Forestry
274 Ellington Plant Sciences Building
Knoxville, Tennessee 37996
Telephone: (865) 974-7978
E-mail: dbuckley@utk.edu

Dr. Jennifer Franklin
University of Tennessee
Department of Forestry
274 Ellington Plant Sciences Building
Knoxville, Tennessee  37996-4563
Telephone:  (865) 974-2724
E-mail:  jafranklin@utk.edu

TENNESSEE REFORESTATION RESEARCH Link

Back to Contacts


TEXAS

Dr. Hans M. Williams
Stephen F. Austin State University
Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture
419 East College Street
P.O. Box 6109, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, Texas 75962-6109
Telephone: (936) 468-2313
Fax: (936) 468-2489
E-mail:  hwilliams@sfasu.edu

Dr. Jeremy P. Stovall
Stephen F. Austin State University
Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture
419 East College Street
P.O. Box 6109, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, Texas 75962-6109
Telephone: (936) 468-2127
Fax: (936) 468-2489
E-mail:  stovalljp@sfasu.edu
Website:  http://forestry.sfasu.edu/faculty/jstovall/home/ Link

Back to Contacts


U.S. FOREST SERVICE

Dr. Mary Beth Adams
United States Forest Service
Timber and Watershed Laboratory
Parsons, WV 26287
Telephone: 304-478-2000, ext. 130
E-mail: mbadams@fs.fed.us

Mr. Willis Vogel
United States Forest Service (Retired)**
116 South Cumberland Street
Berea, Kentucky 40403
Telephone:  (859) 986-3403
E-mail:  wgvogel30@windstream.net

Back to Contacts


U.S. GEOLOGICAL SURVEY

Dr. Petra B. Wood
United States Geological Survey
West Virginia Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit
PO Box 6125, West Virginia University
Morgantown, WV 26506r> Telephone: 304-293-3794, ext. 2433
E-mail: pbwood@wvu.edu

Back to Contacts


VIRGINIA

Dr. James Burger
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Department of Forestry
228 Cheatham Hall
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061
Telephone: (540) 231-7680
E-mail: jaburger@vt.edu

W. Mark Ford
Unit Leader and Associate Professor U.S. Geological Survey
Virginia Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation
106 Cheatham Hall
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061
Telephone: (540) 231-5927
E-mail: wmford@vt.edu
Website: http://www.fishwild.vt.edu/faculty/ford/index.htm  Link

Dr. Jay Sullivan
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Department of Forestry
310 Cheatham Hall
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061
Telephone: (540) 231-4356
E-mail: jsulliv@vt.edu

Dr. Brian D. Strahm, Co-Team Leader
Assistant Professor of Forest Soils and Ecology
Department of Forest Resources & Environmental Conservation
228 Cheatham Hall, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Telephone: (540)231-8627
Fax: (540)231-3330
Department: (540)231-7672
E-mail: brian.strahm@vt.edu

Dr. Carl Zipper
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Department of Crop Soil and Environmental Sciences
Smyth Hall
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061
Telephone:  (540) 231-9782
E-mail:  czip@vt.edu

VIRGINIA REFORESTATION RESEARCH Link

Back to Contacts


WEST VIRGINIA

Dr. Jeffrey Skousen
West Virginia University
Department of Plant and Soil Science
Agricultural Sciences Building 1106
Morgantown, West Virginia 26506
Telephone: (304) 293-2667
E-mail: jskousen@wvu.edu

WEST VIRGINIA REFORESTATION RESEARCH Link

Back to Contacts


* Science Team - The Science Team was formerly known as the Academic Team and may still be referred to as such in older ARRI publications.

**Retired Personnel - Although some persons may be retired from their former places of employment, all contact information is correct and they are still considered active members of the ARRI Science Team.


Return to Top


Page Last Modified/Reviewed: 4/10/17

Appalachian Regional Reforestation Initiative (ARRI), 3 Parkway Center, Pittsburgh, PA 15220
Contact a Core Team Member or a Science Team Member | Web Master: OSM-ARweb@osmre.gov


Accessibility | Disclaimer | FOIA | No Fear | Notices | Privacy | DOI | USA.gov